NET Roundtables Almost Sold Out! Register Today!

2012 Hollywood Post Alliance Awards Announce Nominees

September 13, 2012 (Los Angeles, CA) The Hollywood Post Alliance has announced the nominees for the 2012 HPA Awards. The Awards honor excellence in post production and bring recognition to the achievements of individuals and companies who are engaged in significant and revolutionary work in post production. The nominees in the 12 craft categories were chosen from a field of talented and innovative entries in color grading, editing, sound, and compositing for motion pictures, commercials and television. This year marked the largest number of entries in the Awards’ history. The winners of the 2012 HPA Awards will be announced at a gala evening at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles, CA on November 1st, 2012.

Nominees for the 2012 HPA Awards are:
Outstanding Color Grading using a DI process – Feature Film
Sponsored by Dolby Laboratories
Tom Poole // Company 3
Stephen Nakamura // Company 3
“Once Upon a Time in Anatolia”
James Norman // 1000volt
“The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel”
Adam Glasman // Company 3
“The Iron Lady”
Rob Pizzey // Company 3

Outstanding Color Grading – Television
Sponsored by Dolby Laboratories
“Game of Thrones – The Prince of Winterfell”
Joe Finley // Modern VideoFilm
“Magic City – Castles Made of Sand”
Tony D’Amore // Technicolor Creative Services Hollywood
“Hatfields & McCoys Miniseries – Night 2”
Lorraine Grant
“Castle – The Blue Butterfly”
Tony Smith // Encore
“Boardwalk Empire – 21”
Martin Zeichner // Technicolor-PostWorks New York

Outstanding Color Grading – Commercial
Sponsored by Dolby Laboratories
Captain Morgan “Secret Passage”
Tim Masick // Company 3
Audi “Ahab”
Sean Coleman // Company 3
Chrysler “Halftime in America”
Siggy Ferstl // Company 3
Ciroc “Rat Pack”
Dave Hussey // Company 3
Elizabeth Arden “Wonderstruck”
Tim Masick // Company 3

Outstanding Editing – Feature Film
Sponsored by Avid Technology
“The Artist”
Michel Hazanavicius // La Classe Américaine
Anne – Sophie Bion
“The Dark Knight Rises”
Lee Smith, A.C.E.
“The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”
Kirk Baxter, A.C.E. and Angus Wall, A.C.E.
Thelma Schoonmaker, A.C.E. // Sikelia Productions
“Marvel’s The Avengers”
Jeff Ford, A.C.E. and Lisa Lassek

Outstanding Editing – Television
Sponsored by Avid Technology
“Breaking Bad – Face Off”
Skip Macdonald, A.C.E.
“Downton Abbey – Series 2 Episode 7″ John Wilson, A.C.E. // Carnival Film & Television
“Boardwalk Empire – Under God’s Power She Flourishes”
Kate Sanford, A.C.E.
“Homeland – Pilot”
Jordan Goldman and David Latham
“Final Witness – Graveyard Love”
Miky Wolf // Big Sky Editorial
“Dexter – Those Kinds of Things”
Louis Cioffi, A.C.E.

Outstanding Editing – Commercial
Sponsored by Avid Technology
ESPN MLB “Walk Off”
Jeff Ferruzzo // Outside Editorial
Werthers “Magic”
Kristin McCasey // Therapy Studios
MasterCard “Tango”
Chris Franklin // Big Sky Editorial
Miller64 “Living the Dream”
Jeff Ferruzzo // Outside Editorial
Telekom “Life”
Doobie White // Therapy Studios

Outstanding Sound – Feature Film
“The Hunger Games”
Lon Bender, Bill Dean, Kris Fenske and Glynna Grimala // Soundelux
Mike Prestwood Smith and Michael Keller // Todd AO
Gary Rydstrom, Tom Johnson, E.J. Holowicki and Gwendolyn Yates Whittle // Skywalker Sound
“Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close”
Skip Lievsay, Blake Leyh, Eliza Paley and Paul Urmson // Warner Bros. Sound
“The Adventures of Tin Tin”
Chris Ward, Brent Burge, Michael Hedges, Christopher Boyes and Andy Nelson // Park Road Post Production
“Safe House”
Nico Louw, Chris Jenkins, Frank A. Montaño and Conrad Kuhne // Universal Studios Sound
Per Hallberg // Soundelux

Outstanding Sound – Television
“Grimm – Pilot”
Mark Lanza, Larry Mann, Alan Decker and Nello Torri // Universal Sound
“Person of Interest – Matsya Nyaya”
Scott Weber and Keith Rogers // Disney Digital Studio Services
Tom de Gorter and Matt Sawelson // Atomic Sound
“Hatfields & McCoys Miniseries – Night 3”
Christian Cooke and Brad Zoern
“The Walking Dead – Beside the Dying Fire”
Jerry Ross, Lou Thomas, Tim Farrell, Gary Rogers, Dan Hiland, Phil Barrie and Bartek Swiatek // Warner Bros. Sound
“Homeland – Finale: Marine One”
Craig Dellinger, Jonathan Golodner and Larry Goeb // Sony Pictures Studios
Alan Decker and Nello Torri // Universal Sound

Outstanding Sound – Commercial
Lurpak “Rainbow”
Aaron Reynolds // Wave Studios
Nissan Leaf “Gas Powered Everything”
Jimmy Hite // Margarita Mix Santa Monica
Durex “Vinyl”
Jack Sedgwick // Wave Studios
Cadbury’s “Twirly Gig”
Parv Thind // Wave Studios
Irish Road Safety “Drug Driving Night Out”
Aaron Reynolds // Wave Studios

Outstanding Compositing – Feature Film
“Marvel’s The Avengers”
Matt Holland, Tim Hey, Caterina Schiffers and Steve McGillen // Weta Digital
Marshall Krasser, Ben O’Brien, Sherry Hitch and Mike Conte // Industrial Light & Magic
“John Carter”
Zave Jackson, Helen Newby, Aymeric Perceval and Jamie Wood// Cinesite Ltd.
Alfred Murrle, Christoph Salzmann, Florian Schroeder and Paul Redican // Weta Digital
“Marvel’s The Avengers”
Nelson Sepulveda, Alan Travis, Peter Demarest and Chris Bayz // Industrial Light & Magic

Outstanding Compositing – Television
“The River – Row, Row, Row Your Boat”
Stephan Fleet, Mitch Gates, Charley Carlat and Sarah McGrail // Encore
“Castle – Head Case”
Mitch Gates, Rick Ramirez, Jeremy Jozwik and Brian McIntyre // Encore
“Great Expectations – Episode 3”
Henry Badgett, Stuart Bullen, Markus Kuha and Simon Rowe // BlueBolt
“NCIS: Naval Criminal Investigative Service – Rekindled”
Bob Minshall, Mark Intravartolo, Jeremy Jozwik and Carrie Smith // Encore

Outstanding Compositing – Commercial
Sky Sports “Do the Fold”
David Lebensfeld, Grant Miller, Nick Sorenson and John Martini // Ingenuity Engine
Tooheys Extra Dry “Nocturnal Migration”
Colin Renshaw, Matt Chance and Urs Furrer // Alt.vfx
Chevy “2012 Silverado”
Benjamin Walsh, Dominik Bauch and Nicholas Kim // Method Studios
BP “Side By Side”
Glen Noren, Paul Rosckes, Marko Markewycz and Mark Walczak // Optimus
Trust Bank “Bus”
David Lebensfeld, Grant Miller, Nick Sorenson and John Martini // Ingenuity Engine

In addition to the craft categories, the HPA will also honor winners of the Engineering Excellence Award sponsored by NAB Show, present the HPA Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation in Post Production and the prestigious Charles S. Swartz Award, which recognizes broad and lasting contributions that have advanced and provided a unique purpose to the field of Post Production.
Tickets for the HPA Awards will be available beginning September 17th. They can be purchased online at www.hpaawards.net, by calling the HPA at 213.614.0860 or by writing info@hpaawards.net. More information about the HPA Awards and the Hollywood Post Alliance can be found at www.hpaonline.com.

We use non-personally-identifiable cookies to analyze our traffic and enhance your HPA site experience. By using our website, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Learn More »

Pin It on Pinterest