July 26 is the Deadline to Submit HPA Awards Entries! Submit Your Work Now!

HPA Celebrates 15th Anniversary Honoring Artistry & Innovation

Last night’s HPA Awards made their virtual debut in an atmosphere of warmth and celebration as the community connected over outstanding work and technological advances. The evening began with a red carpet pre-show hosted by Awards founders Mark Chiolis and Carolyn Giardina focusing on the HPA Awards’ founding in 2006 and its evolution since then, and continued into the show’s traditional format, honoring eleven creative craft categories, as well as the Engineering Award and Judges Award for Creativity & Innovation winners.

Awards were given to individuals and teams working in color grading, sound, editing and visual effects for commercials, episodic and theatrical features.

The winners of the 2020 HPA Awards Creative Categories are:

Outstanding Color Grading – Theatrical Feature

WINNER: “Joker”
Jill Bogdanowicz // Company 3

“Ad Astra”
Gregory Fisher // Company 3

“Gretel & Hansel”
Mitch Paulson // EFILM, Company 3

“Jojo Rabbit”
Tim Stipan // Company 3

Natasha Leonnet // EFILM, Company 3


Outstanding Color Grading – Episodic or Non-theatrical Feature

WINNER: “Watchmen – It’s Summer and We’re Running Out of Ice”
Todd Bochner // Sim International

“The Alienist: Angel of Darkness – Last Exit to Brooklyn”
Juan Cabrera, Fran Lorite // LightBender

“Altered Carbon – Payment Deferred”
Bill Ferwerda // Deluxe Toronto, Company 3

“Catherine the Great – Episode 1”
Aidan Farrell // The Farm Group

Bryan Smaller // Company 3


Outstanding Color Grading – Commercial 

WINNER: Ralph Lauren – “Deep Blue”
Tom Poole // Company 3

BMW – “A Mirror Into the Future”
Sofie Borup // Company 3

BMW – “This is Option 2”
Tom Poole // Company 3

Diet Coke – “Drink What Your Mama Gave Ya”
Dave Hussey // Company 3

NFL – “Next 100”
Stefan Sonnenfeld // Company 3


Outstanding Editing – Theatrical Feature
Sponsored by Blackmagic Design

WINNER: “Parasite”
Jinmo Yang, ACE

“Ford v Ferrari”
Michael McCusker, ACE; Andrew Buckland, ACE

“Jojo Rabbit”
Tom Eagles, ACE

Jeff Groth, ACE

“The Two Popes”
Fernando Stutz


Outstanding Editing – Episodic or Non-theatrical Feature (30 Minutes and Under)
Sponsored by Blackmagic Design

WINNER: “Insecure – Lowkey Trying”
Nena Erb, ACE

“Insecure – Lowkey Happy”
Mark Sadlek

“Insecure – Lowkey Losin’ It”
Daysha Broadway, Lucky Justice Productions Inc.

“The Righteous Gemstones – But the Righteous Will See Their Fall”
Craig Hayes

“What We Do in the Shadows – Resurrection”
Yana Gorskaya, ACE, Dane McMaster, FX Networks


Outstanding Editing – Episodic or Non-theatrical Feature (Over 30 Minutes)
Sponsored by Blackmagic Design

WINNER: “Seven Worlds, One Planet: Asia”
Angela Maddick, BBC Studios Natural History Unit

“Mrs. America – Phyllis & Fred & Brenda & Marc”
Emily Greene, FX Networks

“Seven Worlds, One Planet: Australia”
Nigel Buck, BBC Studios Natural History Unit

“Watchmen – It’s Summer and We’re Running Out of Ice”
David Eisenberg, HBO

“Watchmen – This Extraordinary Being”
Anna Hauger


Outstanding Sound – Theatrical Feature
Sponsored by DTS

WINNER: “An American Pickle”
Michael Babcock, Jeremy Pierson, Brandon Spencer, Jeff Sawyer, Dan Kenyon // Sony Pictures

“IT: Chapter Two”
Bill R. Dean, Nancy Nugent, Michael Keller, Tim LeBlanc, Erick Ocampo, Randy Torres // Warner Bros.

Alan Robert Murray, Dean Zupancic, Tom Ozanich, Jason Ruder, Tod A. Maitland // Warner Bros.

“Les Misérables”
Jérôme Gonthier, Arnaud Lavaleix, Matthieu Autin, Marco Casanova // Srab Films


Outstanding Sound – Episodic or Non-theatrical Feature
Sponsored by DTS

WINNER: “Star Trek: Picard – Et in Arcadia Ego Part 2”
Matthew E. Taylor, Todd Grace, Ed Carr, Tim Farrell, Sean Heissinger, Peter Devlin // Warner Bros.

“The Alienist: Angel of Darkness – Belly of the Beast”
Matthew Skelding, Lindsey Alvarez, Ali Hawkins, Al Sirkett, Tom Jenkins

“Away – Negative Return”
Jonathan Greasley, Darren King, Shaughnessy Hare, Dan Gamache, Jeffrey Dyal // King Soundworks

“Locke and Key – Welcome to Matheson”
Chris Cooke, Eric Apps, J.R. Fountain, Dustin Harris // Deluxe Toronto, Company 3

“Seven Worlds, One Planet: Australia”
Graham Wild, Tim Owens // BBC Studios Natural History Unit


Outstanding Visual Effects – Theatrical Feature
Sponsored by ZEISS

WINNER: “The One and Only Ivan”
Nick Davis, Greg Fisher, Ben Aghdami, Ben Jones, Santiago Colomo Martinez // Walt Disney Motion Picture Production

“The Aeronauts”
Louis Morin, Annie Godin, Christian Kaestner, Ara Khanikian // Amazon Studios

“IT: Chapter Two”
Fabrice Vienne, Vincent Desjardins, Christopher Nix, Jonathan Fleming-Bock, Dawid Borkiewicz // Rodeo FX Inc.

Sean Faden, Diana Giorgiutti, Anders Langlands, Seth Maury, Hubert Maston // Walt Disney Motion Picture Production

Guillaume Rocheron, Sona Pak, Greg Butler, Vijay Selvam, Richard Little // MPC


Outstanding Visual Effects – Episodic (Under 13 Episodes) or Non-theatrical Feature
Sponsored by ZEISS

WINNER: “Lost in Space – Shipwrecked”
Aladino Debert, Suzanne Foster, Victor Grant, Paul Chapman, Frankie Stellato // Digital Domain

“His Dark Materials – The Fight to the Death”
Russell Dodgson, James Whitlam, Dan May, Danny Hargreaves, William Todd-Jones // Bad Wolf

“Lost in Space – Ninety-Seven”
Troy Davis, Niklas Jacobson, Jenn Taylor, David Anastacio, Rafael Solórzano // Legendary TV

“The Umbrella Academy – Right Back Where We Started”
Everett Burrell, Jeff Campbell, Phillip Hoffman, Neishaw Ali, Carrie Richardson // Spin VFX

“The Umbrella Academy – Valhalla”
Everett Burrell, R. Christopher White, Libby Hazell, Aidan Martin, Paul Raeburn // Weta Digital


Outstanding Visual Effects – Episodic (Over 13 Episodes)
Sponsored by ZEISS

WINNER: “9-1-1 – Sink or Swim”
Jon Massey, Tony Pirzadeh, Bryant Reif, Brandon Criswell, David Rand // Fuse FX

“The Flash – Grodd Friended Me”
Armen V. Kevorkian, Joshua Spivack, Shirak Agresta, Christopher Grocock, Tanya Kevorkian // Encore VFX

“Grey’s Anatomy – It’s Raining Men”
Tim Carras, Andie Eikenberg, Bill Parker, Nick Chamberlain, Casi Blume // Barnstorm VFX

“NCIS: Naval Criminal Investigative Service – The Arizona”
Matt Von Brock, Javier Gallego, Carrie Smith, Erik O’Donnell, Del Depierro, Bob Minshall // Picture Shop, Ghost VFX

“Supergirl – Crisis on Infinite Earths: Part One”
Armen V. Kevorkian, Brian Reiss, Kris Cabrera, Fabian Jimenez, Alex Schade // Encore VFX


As previously announced, special awards presented at the gala included the HPA Engineering Excellence Award to EIZO for the Prominence CG3146 31.1″ HDR monitor; Eluvio for Eluvio Content Fabric; Moxion for Immediates; and Carl ZEISS SBE for ZEISS eXtended Data; and the HPA Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation to Global Citizen for One World: Together At Home.

The HPA Awards, which are produced by Homerun Entertainment, take place thanks to the generosity of Diamond Title Sponsor Blackmagic Design; Registration Sponsor Picture Shop; Event Sponsors Avid, Dolby, DTS, and ZEISS; and Show Sponsors The Alex Theatre, Deluxe, Jump!, Keycode Media, MTI Film, Pixelogic Media, PostPro Media, Stephen Arnold Music, Vizrt Group, and Wipster. More information about the HPA Awards and HPA can be found at http://www.hpaonline.com/.

We use non-personally-identifiable cookies to analyze our traffic and enhance your HPA site experience. By using our website, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Learn More »

Pin It on Pinterest