July 26 is the Deadline to Submit HPA Awards Entries! Submit Your Work Now!

Mank Wins Feature Award from American Society of Cinematographers

Two of Us Takes Home Spotlight Award and The Truffle Hunters Garners Documentary Award; The Queen’s Gambit, The Crown, Motherland: Fort Salem, and The Mandalorian Get Top Prize in the TV Categories

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) presented its annual awards during a virtual ceremony on April 18, with Erik Messerschmidt, ASC claiming the top prize in feature film for Mank. The 35th ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards also honored Aurélien Marra for Two of Us in the Spotlight Award category, and Michael Dweck and Gregory Kershaw for the documentary The Truffle Hunters. Winners in the TV categories included Steven Meizler for The Queen’s Gambit; Fabian Wagner, ASC, BSC for The Crown; Jon Joffin, ASC for Motherland: Fort Salem; and Baz Idoine for The Mandalorian. TCM’s Ben Mankiewicz hosted the awards show, which was streamed live from the historic ASC Clubhouse in Hollywood.

Below is the complete list of winners and nominees:

Feature Award – presented by Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC, CBE and James Deakins
-Erik Messerschmidt, ASC for Mank – WINNER
-Phedon Papamichael, ASC, GSC for The Trial of the Chicago 7
-Joshua James Richards for Nomadland
-Newton Thomas Sigel, ASC for Cherry
-Dariusz Wolski, ASC for News of the World
(category sponsored by Keslow Camera)

Spotlight Award Category – presented by Matthew Libatique, ASC
-Katelin Arizmendi for Swallow
-Aurélien Marra for Two of Us – WINNER
-Andrey Naidenov for Dear Comrades!
(category sponsored by Panavision)

Documentary Category – presented by Ellen Kuras, ASC
-Michael Dweck and Gregory Kershaw for The Truffle Hunters – WINNER
-Victor Kossakovsky and Egil Håskjold Larsen for Gunda
-Gianfranco Rosi for Notturno
(category sponsored by Canon USA)

Motion Picture/Limited Series/Pilot Made for Television – presented by Polly Morgan, ASC, BSC
-Martin Ahlgren, ASC for The Plot Against America, “Part 6”
-Anette Haellmigk for The Great, “The Great”
-Pete Konczal for Fargo, “The Birthplace of Civilization”
-Steven Meizler for The Queen’s Gambit, “End Game” – WINNER
-Gregory Middleton, ASC, CSC for Watchmen, “This Extraordinary Being”
(category sponsored by RED Digital Cinema)

Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television – presented by Paul Cameron, ASC
-Ken Glassing for Lucifer, “It Never Ends Well for the Chicken”
-Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC, BSC for The Crown, “Fairytale”
-David Greene, ASC, CSC for Impulse, “The Moroi”
-M. David Mullen, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “It’s Comedy or Cabbage”
-Fabian Wagner, ASC, BSC for The Crown, “Imbroglio” – WINNER
(category sponsored by Panavision)

Episode of a Series for Commercial Television – presented by James Whitaker, ASC
-Marshall Adams, ASC for Better Call Saul, “Bagman”
-Carlos Catalán for Killing Eve, “Meetings Have Biscuits”
-François Dagenais, CSC for Project Blue Book, “Area 51”
-Jon Joffin, ASC for Motherland: Fort Salem, “Up is Down” – WINNER
-C. Kim Miles, ASC, CSC, MySC for Project Blue Book, “Operation Mainbrace”
(category sponsored by FotoKem)

Half-Hour Episode for Television – presented by Kira Kelly, ASC
-Ava Berkofsky for Insecure, “Lowkey Lost”
-Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS for The Mandalorian, “Chapter 1: The Mandalorian”
-Baz Idoine for The Mandalorian, “Chapter 13: The Jedi” – WINNER
-Matthew Jensen, ASC for The Mandalorian, “Chapter 15: The Believer”
-Jas Shelton for Homecoming, “Giant”
(category sponsored by ARRI Inc.)

Joffin and Wagner are the only two previous ASC winners. Joffin won the ASC Award for Beyond (2019) and earned nominations for Alice (2011) and The Andromeda Strain (2009). Wagner took ASC’s top TV prize for Game of Thrones (2017) and received an additional two nominations for his work on the show (2015, 2016).

Writer-producer-director Sofia Coppola was also presented with the ASC Board of Governors Award by Ed Lachman, ASC and Philippe Le Sourd, ASC, AFC. The award recognizes Coppola’s significant and indelible contributions to cinema. It is the only ASC Award not given to a cinematographer and is reserved for filmmakers who have been champions of the visual art form. This year, the award was sponsored by Picture Shop.

Last year’s ASC feature film winner was Roger Deakins, CBE, ASC, BSC for 1917, who went on to win the Oscar® for Best Achievement in Cinematography.

For more information regarding the ASC Awards, visit the ASC website at www.theasc.com.

We use non-personally-identifiable cookies to analyze our traffic and enhance your HPA site experience. By using our website, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Learn More »

Pin It on Pinterest